Organization and working methods of the CCG

The CCG was established on the basis of an agreement between the 26 cantonal governments.

The highest decision-making body is the Plenary Assembly, in which each canton has one seat and one vote. Official statements require the approval of 18 cantons. However, the cantons also have a guaranteed right to express differing opinions.

The decisions of the CCG are based on prior decisions taken by the full governments of each canton. Each cantonal government delegates and mandates one of its members to serve in the Plenary Assembly.

The Governing Board comprises nine cantonal government members from all regions, who prepare the business of the CCG for the Plenary Assembly. The Secretariat, which is the office of the CCG, prepares the meetings of political bodies, and implements their decisions. The CCG's budget currently amounts to around CHF 3.5 million. Funding is provided by the cantons in proportion to their populations.

In its work, the CCG is reliant on the political experience of the cantonal governments and the specialist expertise of the cantonal administrations and conferences of cantonal ministers. When dealing with important political matters, the CCG establishes political committees and technical working groups.

The Federal Council is a key partner for the CCG and is invited to the Plenary Assemblies. Delegations from the Federal Council and the CCG meet twice a year for what is known as the Federalist Dialogue. In addition, the CCG has numerous contacts with the federal administration.

Cooperation with the Federal Parliament is also of great importance to the CCG. The CCG makes the cantonal viewpoint known in the parliamentary committees. There is also regular exchange with the Council of States.

Organisation und Arbeitsweise der KdK

Rechtsgrundlage der KdK ist eine Vereinbarung zwischen den 26 Kantonsregierungen.

Das oberste Entscheidorgan ist die Plenarversammlung, in der jeder Kanton einen Sitz und eine Stimme hat. Offizielle Stellungnahmen erfordern die Zustimmung von 18 Kantonen. Das Recht der Kantone auf abweichende Stellungnahme ist gewahrt.

Entscheide der KdK stützen sich auf vorgängige Beschlüsse der Gesamtregierungen. Jede Kantonsregierung delegiert und mandatiert eines ihrer Mitglieder in die Plenarversammlung.

Im Leitenden Ausschuss bereiten 9 Regierungsrätinnen und Regierungsräte aus allen Regionen die Geschäfte der Plenarversammlung vor. Das Sekretariat, die Stabsstelle der KdK, bereitet die Sitzungen der politischen Organe vor und setzt deren Beschlüsse um. Das Budget der KdK beläuft sich gegenwärtig auf rund CHF 3,5 Millionen. Die Finanzierung erfolgt durch die Kantone entsprechend der Einwohnerzahl.

In ihrer Arbeit stützt sich die KdK auf die politische Erfahrung der Kantonregierungen und das Fachwissen der kantonalen Verwaltungen und Direktorenkonferenzen ab. In wichtigen Geschäften setzt die KdK politische Kommissionen und technische Arbeitsgruppen ein.

Wichtiger Partner der KdK ist der Bundesrat, der an die Plenarversammlungen eingeladen wird. Zweimal pro Jahr treffen sich Delegationen des Bundesrates und der KdK zum Föderalistischen Dialog. Zudem bestehen viele Kontakte zur Bundesverwaltung.

Hohe Bedeutung für die KdK hat auch die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesparlament. Die KdK bringt den Standpunkt der Kantone in die parlamentarischen Kommissionen ein. Mit dem Ständerat findet ein regelmässiger Gedankenaustausch statt.